news 1 week ago

Who won the NASCAR race yesterday? Full results for Sunday's Pocono race

Sporting News — (Tom Gatto)

The nightcap of NASCAR's Cup Series weekend doubleheader at Pocono Raceway ran until just before nightfall Sunday. There was still enough sun to finish all 350 miles, however. The first-place car won by daylight, to borrow a horse racing term.

It was the 11 of Denny Hamlin, who had redemption on his mind after coming home second to Kevin Harvick in Saturday's 325-mile opener. This time, Hamlin's team won the pit strategy battle and bested runner-up Harvick.

MORE: Watch all NASCAR races live with fuboTV (7-day free trial)

Hamlin pitted 15 laps after Harvick did in Stage 3 of the 140-lap race, which enabled Hamlin to build a large lead that survived his late green-flag stop.

"I was hoping for no caution," Hamlin said of the final 51-lap green-flag run and the winning strategy. "I knew we had the car, and I was just kind of maintaining my gap right there — didn’t want to make any mistakes like I did at Bristol and gave that win away."

Who won the NASCAR race at Pocono?

Denny Hamlin earned his series-leading fourth victory of the 2020 NASCAR Cup Series season (breaking a tie with Kevin Harvick) and his record-tying sixth victory at Pocono Raceway (Jeff Gordon also has six). As sweet for Hamlin, he and his team turned the tables on Harvick's team with a winning pit strategy.

"Yesterday, (strategy) won us the race, and today we finished second," Harvick said.

NASCAR at Pocono results

Denny Hamlin topped Kevin Harvick in a reversal of Saturday's results at Pocono Raceway. Hamlin's Joe Gibbs Racing teammate Erik Jones came home third, followed by Chase Elliott and Aric Almirola to complete the top five.

1(19)Denny HamlinToyota140
2(20)Kevin HarvickFord140
3(38)Erik JonesToyota140
4(25)Chase ElliottChevrolet140
5(18)Aric AlmirolaFord140
6(8)Matt DiBenedettoFord140
7(7)William ByronChevrolet140
8(14)Clint BowyerFord140
9(27)Alex BowmanChevrolet140
10(15)Martin Truex Jr.Toyota140
11(12)Brad KeselowskiFord140
12(10)Matt KensethChevrolet140
13(3)Kurt BuschChevrolet140
14(2)Austin DillonChevrolet140
15(4)Ricky Stenhouse Jr.Chevrolet140
16(21)Jimmie JohnsonChevrolet140
17(5)Cole Custer #Ford140
18(6)Ryan NewmanFord139
19(24)John Hunter Nemechek #Ford139
20(22)Bubba WallaceChevrolet139
21(23)Corey LaJoieFord139
22(9)Ryan BlaneyFord139
23(26)Ty DillonChevrolet139
24(36)Joey LoganoFord139
25(1)Ryan PreeceChevrolet139
26(28)Daniel SuarezToyota139
27(29)Brennan Poole #Chevrolet138
28(31)JJ Yeley(i)Ford138
29(35)Timmy Hill(i)Toyota137
30(34)James DavisonChevrolet136
31(40)Quin Houff #Chevrolet136
32(33)Garrett Smithley(i)Chevrolet136
33(37)Joey Gase(i)Ford136
34(32)Josh Bilicki(i)Chevrolet136
35(30)Tyler Reddick #Chevrolet135
36(11)Chris BuescherFord135
37(39)BJ McLeod(i)Chevrolet133
38(16)Kyle BuschToyota74
39(17)Christopher Bell #Toyota39
40(13)Michael McDowellFord15

# Rookie. (i) Ineligible for series points.

Average speed of race winner: 122.879 mph.

Time of race: 2 hours, 50 minutes, 54 seconds. Margin of victory: 3.068 seconds.

Caution flags: 8 for 32 laps.

Lead changes: 12 among 8 drivers.

Lap leaders: R. Preece 0; K. Busch 1-35; R. Blaney 36-56; K. Busch 57-58; D. Hamlin 59-76; K. Harvick 77; B. Keselowski 78-79; A. Almirola 80-83; B. Keselowski 84-94; K. Harvick 95-104; D. Hamlin 105-120; M. Truex Jr. 121-125; D. Hamlin 126-140.

Leaders summary (Driver, times led, laps led): Denny Hamlin 3 times for 49 laps; Kurt Busch 1 time for 35 laps; Ryan Blaney 1 time for 21 laps; Brad Keselowski 2 times for 13 laps; Kevin Harvick 2 times for 11 laps; Martin Truex Jr. 1 time for 5 laps; Aric Almirola 1 time for 4 laps; Kyle Busch 1 time for 2 laps.

Stage 1 Top 10: 1,12,95,4,2,21,17,19,18,41.

Stage 2 Top 10: 2,10,6,19,47,4,3,1,21,11.