HIGH SCHOOL NOTEBOOK: Floyd Central, Jeff, Silver Creek rise in basketball pollsDecember 7, 2018 2:46pm

Dec. 06--The Floyd Central and Jeffersonville boys' basketball teams each moved up one spot, while Silver Creek made a major jump in the Associated Press polls released Tuesday.

The Highlanders (4-0) rose to No. 4 in Class 4A following a 41-point win over Clarksville and a 26-point triumph at Castle. The Red Devils also went up one place after their 64-46 victory at then-3A No. 3 Evansville Bosse last Friday night. Jeff hosts Seymour on Friday night before facing second-ranked Carmel at 1:40 p.m. Saturday afternoon at Southport.

New Albany, meanwhile, stayed put at No. 11 following its 61-56 win at Evansville Harrison on Saturday night. The Bulldogs host Floyd at 7:30 p.m. Friday night in a huge Hoosier Hills Conference game.

The Dragons, who were No. 11 in 3A the past two weeks, jumped up to No. 5 following a trio of impressive victories -- 91-51 at Charlestown, 96-58 over Clarksville and 85-49 at Jennings County.



(First-place votes)

* Class 4A: 1. Warren Central (10) 2-0, 2. Carmel (1) 3-0, 3. Center Grove (1) 4-0, 4. Floyd Central 4-0, 5. Jeffersonville 2-0, 6. Ben Davis 4-0, 7. Cathedral 2-1, 8. Valparaiso (1) 2-0, 9. SB Riley 3-0, 10. Zionsville 1-1. Others receiving votes: New Albany, Elkhart Memorial, Munster, Chesterton, Penn, Lawrence Central, Lawrence North, Mishawaka, Brownsburg, Hamilton SE.

* Class 3A: 1. Culver Academy (13) 2-0, 2. Mishawaka Marian 1-0, 3. Greensburg 3-0, 4. Indpls Attucks 2-1, 5. Silver Creek 4-0, 6. Ev. Bosse 1-1, 7. Heritage Hills 2-0, 8. Brebeuf 2-1, 9. Ev. Memorial 0-0, 10. Edgewood 3-0. Others receiving votes: Princeton, New Castle, Hamilton Heights, SB Washington, Marion, Northwestern, Greencastle, Brownstown Central, Blackford, Fairfield, Batesville, Indpls Manual.

* Class 2A: 1. Westview (12) 3-0, 2. Andrean (1) 2-0, 3. Tipton 3-0, 4. Covington 3-0, 5. LaVille 3-0, 6. Southwestern 4-0, 7. Shenandoah 3-0, 8. Heritage Christian 5-1, 9. Park Tudor 3-0, 10. Linton-Stockton 3-1. Others receiving votes: Crawford County, Lapel, Indpls Howe, Manchester, Frankton, MC Marquette, Tell City, Forest Park, Ev. Mater Dei, North Posey.

* Class A: 1. FW Blackhawk (11) 2-0, 2. Barr-Reeve (2) 3-0, 3t. Bloomfield 2-0, 3t. Lafayette Central Catholic 3-1, 5. Oldenburg 3-0, 6. University 3-1, 7. Morristown 3-1, 8. Covenant Christian 2-0, 9. Gary 21st Century 3-2, 10. Washington Township 2-0. Others receiving votes: North Vermillion, Kouts, Covenant Christian (DeMotte), Wes-Del, Loogootee, White River Valley, Southwood, Tindley, Eminence, Argos, Vincennes Rivet.


Fourteen local players were selected to the All-Hoosier Hills Conference teams announced Monday night at the league's banquet. New Albany led the way with nine selections while Floyd Central had three and Jeffersonville two.

The Bulldogs had five players make the first team and four earn honorable mention. Offensive lineman Christian Parsons, wide receiver Devon Gummer, running back Austin Oppel, defensive lineman Darius Price and linebacker Koran Givens were first-team selections. Offensive lineman Chance Tobin, quarterback Dylan Clark, defensive lineman Gavin Perkins and defensive back DeAndre Stroud were honorable mention picks.

The Highlanders had two players make the first team and one garner honorable mention. Defensive lineman Brett May and linebacker Tyler Edwards were first-team selections. Offensive lineman Trent Hyatt was an honorable mention pick.

For the Red Devils, D'Andre Rutherford was a first-team selection at defensive back while Devaca Parks earned honorable mention.

The complete teams are listed below.





Offensive line -- Roman Weber (Bedford NL), Jacob Sitterding (Columbus East), Jacob Bolte (East), Haden Mettert (Seymour), Christian Parsons (New Albany). Tight end -- Isaac VanCurren (East). Wide receiver -- Devon Gummer (New Albany), Drew Shoufler (BNL). Running back -- Nathan O'Mara (Seymour), Austin Oppel (New Albany), Jace Humes (Madison). Quarterback -- McCall Ray (BNL). Kicker/punter -- Sam Thommason (East).


Defensive line -- Brett May (Floyd Central), Noah Caswell (Madison), Darius Price (New Albany), Caleb Madden (Seymour), Julian Greenwell (East). Linebacker -- Tyler Edwards (Floyd Central), Jamey Deckard (BNL), Nash Murphy (East), Koran Givens (New Albany). Defensive back -- Jonah Wichman (East), Justice Woods (BNL), D'Andre Rutherford (Jeffersonville).




OL -- Cale Bunch (BNL), Chance Tobin (New Albany), Trent Hyatt (Floyd Central). TE -- Jack Roberts (Seymour). WR -- Cody Horner (East). RB -- Mark McDonald (East), Wyatt Martin (BNL). QB -- Dylan Clark (New Albany).


DL -- Jacob Hobbs (BNL), Gavin Perkins (New Albany), Cory Hayden (East). LB -- Devaca Parks (Jeff), Owen Deaton (Jennings County). DB -- DeAndre Stroud (New Albany), Quinton Farris (Madison).



Several area soccer players have earned all-state recognition.

Silver Creek seniors Alyssa Wright and Hannah Dudley were named first-team All-State by the Indiana Coaches of Girls Sports Association. Wright, a midfielder, led the Dragons in goals (20), assists (eight) and points (48) this past season. Meanwhile, Dudley anchored the defense while also scoring a pair of goals on offense.

Floyd Central junior Katie Yankey earned second-team All-State honors from the Indiana Soccer Coaches Association. The midfielder led the Highlanders in goals (23), assists (18) and points (64). Wright, meanwhile, was an honorable mention selection by the ISCA.

On the boys' side, Providence senior Austin Hughes earned All-State honorable mention recognition from the ISCA. The midfielder paced the Pioneers in assists (15) and tied for first in points (29) while ranking fourth in goals (seven).


(c)2018 The Evening News and The Tribune (Jeffersonville, Ind.)

Visit The Evening News and The Tribune (Jeffersonville, Ind.) at newsandtribune.com

Distributed by Tribune Content Agency, LLC.

Page 1 of 1

Related Searches

Related Searches